Fitness Tips

Fitness as an Emotional Outlet

For many people, working out is an outlet to escape from the strain of every day life. It’s one of the healthier options to relieve stress. Not only does exercise have physical benefits, but mental benefits as well.

I stay active for many reasons…one of them being to get out of my own head when it comes to over-thinking issues.

One of these issues for me is grief. I’ve lost both of my parents; my dad when I was 6 and my mom when I was 17. Holidays like today (Mother’s Day), are always hard for me. It’s emotionally difficult to see people around me sharing pictures and stories of their parents when I don’t have any. I usually get a bit down. I understand this is completely normal and part of grieving. So, I take the time to feel  these emotions, but I try to not get stuck on them.

In order to avoid fixating on these thoughts, I turn to fitness. I’ll go to the gym, take a class, or go for a walk. Exercise allows me to physically get my endorphins going and to focus on something else.

I like to use distractions as a way to get myself out of a negative thought process. Working out is a great diversion because I get my mind off whatever topic I’m caught up in while keeping myself in shape. It’s a win win.

Everyone is dealing with different dilemmas in their life and we have various ways to deal with them. Staying active is a great way to handle these stressors. I hope if you are going through a tough time today, that you find a healthy way to endure it and know that you’re not alone.

Cherish the time with your loved ones and enjoy the day! Happy Mother’s Day to all the moms out there.

Leave a Reply

