Fitness Tips

Traveling Tips for Fitness on the Go

As a group fitness instructor, I attend different trainings and workshops on a semi-regular basis. Most of them are local, but some require traveling a fair amount of distance. These are some tips and tools I like to use while on a trip. No matter the reason for your journey, these can be useful.

Single Day Travel

If an event is only for the day, I like to pack snacks and drinks. Since most of the workshops or trainings tend to be active, the food and drinks will keep me fueled up and ready to go. I like to avoid eating at fast food places or getting junk food from the gas station whenever possible.

I use a cooler/lunch box to hold my snacks in. The Cryost Cooler works well and is the one I prefer.

This allows me to pack cold food/drinks so that I’m not limited to room temperature items. Also, it makes it convenient to carry it all at once. Some of the snack I like to bring are:

  • Fruit
  • Veggies
  • Unsalted nuts
  • Trail mix (the non-sugary kind preferably)
  • Beef jerky
  • Salad (fruit, chicken, egg)
  • Crackers
  • Protein/Granola bars (low sugar)
  • Dark chocolate (some “healthy” sugar for energy)
  • Protein shake
  • Pre-Workout
  • BCAAs (branch chained amino acids – help with muscle recovery)
  • Water

Multiple Day Travel

If I’m going for a trip that is more than one day, I’ll still pack my cooler with snacks and drinks. It just means I’ll either refill it or use it for the first day only. I like to still bring enough room-temperature items with me for the whole trip. Not only does it save me money but it also allows me to plan out what I am eating. This ensures I don’t eat a bunch of crap. Planning out your food makes it easier to stay on track.

Other than food and clothes, I like to bring a couple of nifty tools with me to help my body recover from whatever workout I may be doing.

Ideally, I would love to bring my foam roller everywhere but, it’s a bit bulky to carry around. I’ve found that RumbleRollers  or Tiger Tails are more compact and work just as good, if not better for a massage.

Lastly, I like to bring a muscle balm of sorts to aid in relieving my muscles. Something like Icy Hot, Biofreeze, or Tiger Balm, works great for excessively sore muscles. Just remember with these balms – a little bit goes a long way.

I hope you enjoy your travels and find these tips useful.

One thought on “Traveling Tips for Fitness on the Go

  1. Hi Spring, congradulations on your “Season of Fitness” webpage. You are an amazing person and inspirational to All of us who know you. You have pushed me out of my comfort zone and inspired me to challenge myself more then I thought I could. Thank you 😊

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

