Fitness Tips · Goals

Fitness on a Budget

Most everyone goes through money troubles at some point in their life. Like me…right now. It’s a struggle and it’s stressful. Whatever your challenge may be or however it is affecting your workouts, just know you’re not alone and that they are ways to stay on track on a budget.

I started working with a personal trainer about a year ago, when I was more financially stable. Life circumstances look different now, and meeting with my trainer twice a week has become difficult. Even though I teach multiple classes a week and stay in decent shape for it, training has given me the mental and physical strength I was craving. Personal training has become a safe haven for me. It allows me time to work on my strength without having to think. I am usually the one demonstrating the moves so, it’s a nice change to have somebody else leading the workout. It’s something I look forward to every week.

When I found out I couldn’t afford to do it twice a week, I got pretty upset. After I let myself grieve, I figured out a game plan that allowed me to still train without going broke.

I changed my training to twice a week, every other week to stay within my new budget. Since I was not going to be seeing my trainer every week, I had to keep myself more accountable for working out on my own.

At first, it was difficult. I fell out of my routine pretty quick. On the weeks I wouldn’t see my trainer, I slacked off and didn’t go on my own. After a few weeks of going every other week, I decided something needed to be changed. I made a few tweaks to ensure I would get to the gym on my own. If you or someone you know can related to this story, you might like to see the plan too.

  1. I found a workout partner

Since going solo to the gym wasn’t working for me, I recruited the help of my boyfriend and friend to go with me. Having someone counting on me to be there made it easier for me to show up. They appreciate the extra push to get a workout in as well.

  1. I adjusted my workout goals

Originally my routine was to go 6 days a week. Since I was so far off from this at this point, I made a more attainable goal of 4 times a week. I could meet that goal and therefore felt more successful, instead of getting down on myself for not making my 6 days a week. From here I can work my way back up to 6 days a week.

  1. I changed my routine…again

After a discussion with my trainer about how my workout routine was still not as consistent as we would like it be, I changed my training to once a week. Same cost for my budget, but it allowed me to see him every week to keep me on track. So far, so good. I can feel myself getting back to a normal schedule. The plan now is to slowly increase my days back to 6 days a week.

For me, training has become a priority and that’s why I go through the extra stress of keeping it in my budget. It would be easy to stop training and save that money. This wouldn’t contribute to me reaching my goals though. The benefits of working with my trainer are worth it for me to structure my finances to accommodate my sessions.

I understand my money struggle only applies to personal training. Your struggle may be different; such as: not being able to afford a trainer at all or a gym membership for that matter. My tips above can still apply to staying on track while on a budget.

Here are some options to consider:

  • If you have a gym membership but, can’t afford a trainer, don’t be afraid to look up some workouts at home and do them at the gym. There is so much free content out there that you can find something that fits your fitness goals.
  • If you can’t afford a gym membership, again look up some workouts you can do at home or outside. You can pay a one-time fee for plenty of home workout programs. There are some great options out there.

Doing something to stay healthy is better than not doing anything at all. No matter what your budget is, find something that you enjoy that gets you closer to your fitness goals. I’ll be here rooting for you!

Leave a Reply

