Style

Hair and Sweat….. Sweat and Hair

Like most people, I sweat pretty profusely when I work out. This can make my hair situation somewhat of a mess during and after getting sweaty. I’ve found a few ways I can wear my hair so that it’s not in my way and it doesn’t look like I was just attacked by a flock of birds. If you’re like me, this post is for you.

Full disclosure here: I am not one to put a lot of effort into my hair and tend to struggle with doing much of anything to it. With that being said these styles are pretty basic and hopefully are easy enough to accomplish in 5 minutes or less.

1. Basic Ponytail

No frills about this. If my bangs are a bit shorter I use bobby pins to pin them back or go for a plastic headband. (The full fabric headbands always fall off my head). I have discovered the 2 hair tie trick recently (which I’m sure most people have been doing for ages). If you find your ponytail constantly falling down, try using 2 hair ties and it’ll be more secure.

2. Messy Bun

This is one of my recent favorites. I like it better than a ponytail because it keeps the hair off my neck and back. The messy bun keeps my hair a bit dryer – that way I don’t end up with loose strands of hair all over.

The type of bun I like to do is a pull-through method where you put your hair in a ponytail and on the last pull through the rubber band, you only pull half of it through … creating a little bun. Then, either tuck the ends back into the ponytail, and/or use a small clip to push them underneath the little bun to give it more lift. Same thing applies to bangs in this situation as ponytail.

Here is how I do it!

img_8929

3. Top Knot

For when I’m feeling a little bit more “fancy,” I’ll do half and half, AKA, top knot. I’ll pull the top portion of my hair into a similar type of messy bun described above and leave the bottom half down.

top-bun

4. Snapbacks & Tattoos

When I really don’t feel like dealing with my hair, I pull on a “trucker” or “snapback” hat. I usually have my hair in a bun or down underneath the hat.

snapback

This post only deals with how I’m putting up my hair; in a later post I’ll talk more about how I manage it as far as cleaning goes.

Stay sweaty my friends!

Leave a Reply

