Body Pump · R.I.P.P.E.D. · Zumba

Shoes, Shoes, and More Shoes!

You might wonder what kinds of shoes to wear in different fitness classes.

For Zumba, I prefer a high-top type of sneaker that has a slicker bottom with a flat bottom and/or some sort of “pivot point.”

My go-to brands are Zumba Fitness brand shoes, Reebok, and Ryka.

Currently I wear the Reebok Hayasu.

Reebok - Hayasu LTD Black / Oil Slick / White / Vicious Violet BS5907

 

All the above-mentioned brands have great high-top options and are wide enough for my big feet.

I have tried Nike and Adidas, which were great in the high-top flat bottom aspects but, were just a bit too narrow for my wide feet.

With any of my shoes I use for Zumba, I will say that I always buy some sort of insole to put into my shoes. I never wear my sneakers without them.

This helps cushion the higher impact moves Zumba classes like mine can have, as well as help keep my terrible shin splints at bay.

Zumba actually produces their own shoes that I have tried and they are also pretty good; I have the older black ones of this style. I also switch off with the Rykas velocity high tops.

Image result for black zumba high toRyka Women's Tenacity High Top Training Shoe Shoe

For my non-dance classes, I prefer more of a running or training shoe.

I usually keep these ones low-top because I have more ankle mobility for different movements such as lunges in Body Pump or the athletic lateral movements in R.I.P.P.E.D.

For these shoes, I don’t typically put insoles in because I’m not doing as many high impact movements.

ASICS GEL-Noosa Tri 10 PS

I have tried various brands for these types of formats and so far, my favorites have been from Asics, Reebok, and Under Armor. Both have great cushioned souls and a decent amount of arch support (and fit my wide feet). Currently I am using Asics Gel-Noosa Tri 11 and Under Armor Strive 6.

One thought on “Shoes, Shoes, and More Shoes!

Leave a Reply

